Best Strategy and Negotiation Books

Home » Best Books » Best Strategy and Negotiation Books

Your support helps keep the site running! We recommend books and products we believe in. Some of the links on this page are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you purchase through these links. Read our affiliate disclosure.

With a quick search you will find hundreds of books on the matter of negotiation and strategy. 

When I was working on my company improving my skills on negotiation was important and although I used Audible to listen many of them, I found a few that actually made sense for me (and my time as a parent). 

Though if I knew better I would wait for my kids to grow a bit and train myself live with negotiations that you almost certainly lose (yes I am talking to you parent that read right now)

So let’s dive in and I will share some of my favorite -or not- and I hope I will help a few of you save some time.

What are the Best Books for Strategy and Negotiation?

When it comes to understanding strategy in-depth, there are several books that can provide valuable insights. Some of the best books on strategy include:

  • “Good Strategy/Bad Strategy” by Richard Rumelt
  • “The Art of War” Sun Tzu
  • “The Art of Strategy: A Game Theorist’s Guide to Success in Business and Life” by Avinash K. Dixit and Barry J. Nalebuff
  • “Blue Ocean Strategy: How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make Competition Irrelevant” by W. Chan Kim and Renée Mauborgne

When it comes to honing negotiation skills, there are several books that offer practical strategies and tips. Some recommended books on negotiation include:

  • “Never Split the Difference: Negotiating As If Your Life Depended On It” by Chris Voss
  • “Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion” by Robert Cialdini
  • “Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In” by Roger Fisher and William Ury
  • “Bargaining for Advantage: Negotiation Strategies for Reasonable People” by G. Richard Shell

Lets see them below…

Books on Strategy

Good Strategy Bad Strategy: The Difference and Why It Matters

Rumelt, a highly regarded strategy expert, presents a comprehensive framework for developing effective strategies and exposes the flaws in common misconceptions about strategy. This book is a sharp, no-nonsense guide to understanding the essence of strategy and how it differs from mere wishful thinking or organizational buzzwords. Packed with real-world examples from various industries, the book provides valuable insights into the art of crafting and implementing effective strategies. While the book is highly analytical and requires some prior understanding of business strategy, its practical approach and clear explanations make it an invaluable resource for business leaders, managers, and anyone interested in strategic planning.

Our Pick
Good Strategy Bad Strategy: The Difference and Why It Matters
$32.00 $19.18
Buy Now
02/27/2024 08:17 pm GMT

The Art of War

The Art of War is a military strategy book that was written by Sun Tzu around the 6th century BC. This book is not only a military strategy, but it also contains some philosophical and moral teachings. It was written as a guide for generals on how to win wars. The Art of War by Sun Tzu is a book that has been translated into many languages and read by people from all over the world. The book is divided into two sections: The first section describes the five most important principles in war, while the second section explains how these principles should be used in practice. For example: Know when to fight and when to avoid fighting, or how to appear powerful when you are weak and weak when you are strong. If you know your adversary and yourself, you won’t need to worry about the outcome of a hundred conflicts.

The Art of War
$24.99 $23.04
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:49 pm GMT

The Art of Strategy: A Game Theorist’s Guide to Success in Business and Life

If you are looking for a book that combines the world of strategy with game theory, “The Art of Strategy” by Avinash K. Dixit and Barry J. Nalebuff is a must-read. Avinash Dixit and Barry Nalebuff, celebrated game theorists, break down complex concepts into engaging and practical advice.

The authors will introduce you to the principles of game theory and its application to strategic decision-making. They discuss various topics such as competition, cooperation, and the role of information in strategic interactions. You will discover how to analyze situations strategically, anticipate the actions of others, and make well-informed strategic choices. The strategies presented in this book can be applied in negotiations, business deals, and even everyday decision-making.

This book takes you on a journey through strategic thinking, offering insights into how to outthink and outmaneuver competitors, whether you’re sealing a business deal, negotiating a salary, or even deciding where to dine.

The Art of Strategy: A Game Theorist's Guide to Success in Business and Life
$140.54
Buy Now
02/27/2024 08:45 pm GMT

Blue Ocean Strategy, Expanded Edition: How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make the Competition Irrelevant

This book is a must-read for any entrepreneur or business owner who wants to grow their company. It teaches you how to create uncontested market space and make competition irrelevant in the process. The book is written by W. Chan Kim and Renée Mauborgne, two professors at INSEAD, the prestigious international business school based in France. The authors have spent years studying why some companies succeed while others fail, and they found that the difference often comes down to this: companies that create “blue oceans” – uncontested market space – see dramatic growth, while those that don’t remain trapped in “red oceans” of bloody competition.

Blue Ocean Strategy, Expanded Edition: How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make the Competition Irrelevant
$32.00 $17.69
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:31 pm GMT

Books on Negotiation

Never Split the Difference: Negotiating As If Your Life Depended On It

Never Split the Difference is a book that offers universal and timeless advice on negotiation. It is a book that will help you understand how to negotiate in any situation, no matter what side of the table you are sitting on. This book has been written by Chris Voss, a former FBI negotiator and author of other bestselling books about negotiations. The book offers advice for both personal life and business life and it is based on the idea that both parties should be willing to meet in the middle. Some of the ideas you will read don’t seem to make rational sense, however, they seem to work.

Our Pick
Never Split the Difference: Negotiating As If Your Life Depended On It
$35.00 $23.48
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:36 pm GMT

Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion

Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion is a book written by Robert Cialdini that offers a comprehensive overview of the psychology of persuasion and its applicability in our daily lives. The book has been published many times and the first edition dated back to 1984.
This book will help you to understand the six universal principles of persuasion, which are reciprocity, authority, commitment and consistency, social proof, liking and scarcity. And although the book goes back in time, people don’t change.

Case studies or examples of successful negotiations explained in the book: Cialdini uses a wealth of case studies and examples, ranging from sales tactics to everyday situations, to demonstrate how principles like reciprocity, commitment, social proof, authority, liking, and scarcity work in practice.
The book has been one of the best-selling books on the topic of psychology and negotiation. Of course is is equally awesome read for your marketing.

Our Pick
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion
$18.99 $8.25
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:44 pm GMT

Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In

This book is a classic in the field of negotiation. Fisher and Ury provide a straightforward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry or giving in. It’s based on the principle of ‘principled negotiation,’ focusing on interests rather than positions. It brilliantly lays out the method, fundamentally shifting the way we approach negotiations. The book moves away from the traditional adversarial approach and instead focuses on mutual interests. This approach is incredibly versatile, applicable in a wide range of situations, from high-stakes business deals to everyday personal disputes.

Key tactics and strategies discussed in the book: The core of the book revolves around key strategies like separating people from the problem, focusing on interests rather than positions, generating a variety of possibilities before deciding, and insisting that the result is based on some objective standard. It’s packed with practical advice, like the importance of active listening, understanding the other party’s perspective, and developing options that offer mutual gains. The book also stresses the importance of objective criteria in negotiations, steering clear of emotional decision-making.

Application of negotiation skills in business deals and personal interactions: What makes “Getting to Yes” so valuable is its wide applicability. The techniques and principles outlined are as useful in resolving a family conflict as they are in closing a complex business deal. The book is filled with real-world scenarios that illustrate how principled negotiation can be effectively applied.

Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In
$30.00 $17.02
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:59 pm GMT

Bargaining for Advantage: Negotiation Strategies for Reasonable People

What makes this book so valuable is that it provides readers with a step-by-step process to help them navigate any kind of negotiation, be it at work or in their personal lives. The authors have created a Solid framework for studying negotiations in a well-written book. Along with these frameworks, you will discover your preferred negotiation method and avoid common mistakes.

Bargaining for Advantage: Negotiation Strategies for Reasonable People
$19.00 $11.66
Buy Now
02/27/2024 07:36 pm GMT

Synergies between Strategy and Negotiation

Strategy and negotiation go hand in hand. Effective strategies often require negotiation skills to navigate and secure optimal outcomes. Likewise, effective negotiation requires a strategic mindset to identify opportunities, assess risks, and create value. Understanding the interplay between strategy and negotiation can help you achieve greater success in your business endeavors.

If you like this read check more of my articles at the Books Review.